ISRO wins Innovative Company of the Year award at IESA Industry Excellence Awards 2019

India Energy Storage Alliance (IESA) announced the front-runners of its Industry Excellence Awards at a gala ceremony in New Delhi. Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) bagged the Innovative Company of the Year award in Energy Storage for Space Application at India Energy Storage Alliance Industry Excellence Awards 2019.

ISRO’s Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC) has successfully developed and qualified lithium ion cells of capacities ranging from 1.5 Ah to 100 Ah for use in satellites and launch vehicles. VSSC has received tremendous response from more than 141 companies across the globe for its lithium ion cell technology.

Powered by Customized Energy Solutions and Messe Dusseldorf India, IESA Industry Excellence Awards is an initiative by the India Energy Storage Alliance to recognize the perseverance, innovation and achievements of organizations involved in the energy storage landscape in India. These awards celebrate the value these organizations have created for the end consumers in the country. 

Amara Raja Group͛’s Founder and Chairman, Dr. Ramachandra N Galla has been felicitated with the Lifetime Achievement Award͛ at the India Energy Storage Alliance Industry Excellence Awards 2019.

Receiving the IESA Industry Excellence Awards 2019, Raghu R, Associate Director, ISRO said, “On behalf of Chairman ISRO and our team, I would like to thank IESA for honouring our efforts with this award.”

Expressing his gratitude, Dr. Ramachandra N Galla, Founder and Chairman, Amara Raja Group͛, said “I am extremely happy to receive this coveted award and there can be no better platform than this to receive such an award. It is an honour to be here talking to scientists, government, ministers and entrepreneurs. When I started our entrepreneurial journey in 1985, there were no specifications and standards to guide us. We successfully introduced new technologies then. Today, we are poised to bring in new technologies and will make rapid strides in the area of energy storage applications to address the future needs.”

Congratulating the awardees, Dr. Rahul Walawalkar, Executive Director, India Energy Storage Alliance (IESA) said “The winners in the various categories have showcased immense dedication, expertise & hard work for setting a benchmark for the other stakeholders in the energy storage segment. I would like to congratulate all of them on their win in this prestigious award programme.”

Ashok Leyland Ltd won the award under the category of Best Electric Vehicle Project of the Year. This award recognizes companies that are involved in ground-breaking projects utilizing advance technology and innovative business models. Lithium Urban Technologies received Electric Vehicle Company of the Year award. Exicom Tele systems Ltd with the highest number of EV Charger installation in the country bagged the EV infrastructure company of the year award.

Sanjay Krishnan, CEO, Lithium Urban Technologies Pvt. Ltd. was facilitated with IESA Powerful CEO of the Year award in Electric Vehicle Category. Okaya Power Pvt. Ltd. was awarded as the Emerging Energy Storage Company of the year at the ceremony.

IESA Leadership Circle extended their best wishes for the Gaganyaan programme, the long cherished dream of ISRO by presenting a shield to the ISRO team.